The FIFA World Cup 1930 – 1970

Unibet betting fans may be gearing up already for the 2014 World Cup, but history fans will know that it was back in 1928 that the then FIFA President, Jules Rimet, thought it would be a good idea to hold an international football tournament to discover who the best team in the world would be.

The first final was held in Uruguay, in 1930, and contained just 13-teams, who were invited to contest the trophy by FIFA. Due to the cost of traveling to a South American country, no European countries were going to take part until Rimet convinced Belgium, France, Romania and Yugoslavia to enter at the last minute. It needn’t have mattered because Uruguay defeated Argentina 4-2 in front of 93,000 partisan fans at their home stadium in Montevideo.

The 1934 World Cup was held in Italy and it was the first time that a qualification process was introduced – a system that exists to this day. 16-teams qualified for the final stages and that would remain the number until 1982 when the tournament doubled in size to 32. Once again the trophy went the way of the home nation as Italy defeated Czechoslovakia 2-1 in the final held in Rome.

Italy would retain the title in 1938, and after a World War got in the way of things Uruguay returned to take their second title in 1950. The West Germans took their first title in 1954, before the Brazilians started to show their dominance with a Pele inspired side taking the honours in 1958, 1962 and 1970, and it was decided to allow Brazil to keep the Jules Rimet trophy after that success in 1970 with a new FIFA Trophy being introduced which is used to this day.

England would be the only side to interrupt the Brazilian era when they took the title on home soil in 1966.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Guest Writer
About Guest Writer 1704 Articles
Thanks for reading this guest article. If you would like to guest post for us then see our guidelines here. Thanks :)
Seo wordpress plugin by